SUNGEI LEMBING MUSEUM
The Sungei Lembing Museum showcases the history of the world-famous subterrannean tin-mine. Located in the old turn-of-the-century town of Sungai Lembing, which was built with the wealth generated by the tin ore mined there, this interesting museum is housed in a beautiful colonial-type bungalow on top of a hill that overlooks the sleepy settlement below.
The town of Sungai Lembing is located 42 kilometers from Kuantan town. A good road links the two places. Here, at the museum visitors can browse the exhibits that represent almost every facet of the now defunct largest underground tin mine in the world. So famous was the mine at Sungai Lembing that it was often given the nickname the eastern 'El Dorado'. Tin was mined here way before the British-owned Pahang Consolidated Company Limited ventured forth to commercially work the place on a large scale in 1906 until it's liquidation in 1986. In fact there is evidence that the mineral had attracted miners since prehistoric times.
Mining tools and equipments.
Some of the old office equipments displayed in this museum.
GETTING THERE: FACILITIES:
(Seng Heng Bus) : RM3.20
Taxi Fare : RM20.00
- Restaurant (opposite the Sungai
Lembing Museum - Tapis Resort)
- Car park (free)
ADMISSION: OPENING HOURS:
RM 1.00 per person - 12 years old and above
Students in school uniform - Free Opens daily except Mondays
ADDRESS: VISITING HOURS:
Muzium Sungai Lembing,
Sg. Lembing, 26200 Kuantan
Pahang Darul Makmur
Fridays : 9.00 am - 12.00 pm
2.00 pm - 5.00 pm
Closed : Mondays, Hari Raya Aidilfitri &
Hari Raya Aidiladha
Source : http://pahangtrekker.malaysiatrekker.com/muzium_sg_lembing.htm